Leaving Belize Was The Perfect Move

Eight months ago we left Belize because we wanted to spend more time with our parents. Five days ago my wife’s amazing Dad, Jack Himschoot, unexpectedly passed away here at home, in our presence. Leaving Belize when we did was one of the best decisions we ever made.

As much as we enjoyed Belize while we were there, there has never been a moment since we left that I wished we were back. We had our adventure and are now on to matters we consider more important for today. If we had received a message that her father had passed while we were in the jungle we would have regretted it forever.  I have lived most of my adult life away from my parents but as I have just lived through Jack’s passing I am incredibly grateful that we have been here for these last 8 months. Belize, nor anywhere else for that matter, cannot offer a replacement for that.

Since being in the US we have struggled financially. After eight months here I am working three businesses part time.  I have put faith in the development of those businesses that simply hasn’t produced as well as we had hoped. With the death of her father, we are at a crossroads. Is it time to move closer my parents now? My father has serious health issues. Should we stay here and live near her mother? At this moment we do not know.  We like the flexibility and income potential of being self employed but the security of a J.O.B. sometimes seems appealing.

We are plugged into our church, the Boy Scouts, Little League, dance lessons at Grandma’s dance studio and more.  Change is hard yet constant. Knowing when to make the move and when to buckle down and press on is a key to success and at this moment I am at a loss. I am trusting in God’s guidance to help us make another great decision and am confident we will not be disappointed.

About BelizeBritts

Jim and Jacquelyn moved to Belize in 2004 after spending much of their adult lives as US Navy Deep Sea Divers. Jacquelyn specialized in the Navy's Marine Mammal Program handling sea lions and dolphins with the US Navy's Explosive Ordinance Disposal (EOD) as well as conducting underwater repairs on navy ships. Jim was a Navy Chief specializing in underwater repairs to ships and submarines as well as operating a recompression chamber for the treatment of injured divers. They moved to Belize in 2004 from Pine Island, Florida where Jacquelyn is a 4th generation native. Jim is from all over but calls Nashville, Tennessee home. In March 2013 they moved back to Pine Island, FL to spend more time with their family.
This entry was posted in Belize, Belize Culture, Ex Pats in Belize, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Leaving Belize Was The Perfect Move

  1. Alex Stephenson says:

    Hang in there you guys!…Would love to see you again one of these days…I’ll never forget Belize, mostly because of you guys!!!….

  2. Jim and Jacquelyn,
    I don’t know if you remember me, we spoke several times about Belize Real Estate, I’m so sorry for the loss of Jacquelyn’s Father. I am still looking for property in Belize, and will visit again, Jan 01, 2014. If you can , give me a call, or an e-mail, I have a couple of ” Ideas ” for Belize

    Tony Castagna
    Tri County Tree Experts
    ( 610 ) 945 7088

    • BelizeBritts says:

      I tried you this morning and left a voice mail. Call me any time Tony.

      • Wayne Davenport says:

        Hi Jim. We enjoyed reading your adventures in Belize! Looks like you have a wonderful family and you made the right decision to return to the states. We have already been through the teenage/college and now marriages of our children. We are very interested in Belize and the reality of life we see in our research that seems to be ever on the wain in this country. Anyway, not making any rash moves, but would like advise on our first step: like where to go to stay for a couple of weeks to get aquainted with the place. I am a 66 year old custom home builder and have been for 32 years. I’m not yet retired but close. My wife Helen (59) has home schooled our 3 children and is now working as an administrative assistant at our local hospital. I guess we’re looking for our finale’. Any direction you could give would be appreciated. Thanks Wayne

      • BelizeBritts says:

        Wayne feel free to give me a call anytime. I’d be glad to chat with you guys. My phone number is on my website, http://www.forsalebyownerinbelize.com

  3. Hi Jim,
    My wife Rebecca and I extend our condolences to you & Jacquelyn and your entire extended families. Your blog posts have been an entertainment and informative. I left Burrell Boom, Belize in 1972 and lived on Grand Cayman. Rebecca is from outside Philadelphia,PA, but we are planning to move to Belize early next year. We have an RV we are planning to drive down. I have looked at several of the properties in your listing, but we have not made the final decision yet, although we are both retired, simply because we ended up moving between Orlando & Ft. Lauderdale, helping to raise our grand kids. Rebecca wants to live on one of the less crowded cayes, I have no preferences, except maybe somewhere between Riversdale & Middlesex. That way I can do some personal farming (hydroponics preferably), and yet have easy access to the sea.
    We wish you all the best, and will certainly keep you in our prayers,
    Sincerely,
    David E Conolly & Rebecca Thomas-Conolly,
    we are both on Facebook.

  4. jean higbee says:

    Sorry for you loss and I’m glad you have each other through each turn in the road ! I left a career, sold my condo and moved out of Washington D.C. to Utah to spend the last few years with my parents before they both died within a year of each other. You did the right thing….everything is temporary anyway, (“this too shall pass”?) which is comforting during periods of struggling. That thought also encourages me to grab a hold and enjoy the precious moments as well.
    Belize has been my “gotta get there” place for over 11 years! I’ve gotta make that happen soon.
    Cheer, comfort and prayers,
    jeanhigbee@gmail.com

  5. Kirk G. Hodson says:

    Praise The Lord. He is not done.

  6. Connie Bailey says:

    What ever happened to DrIve Goddess’s stuff?

  7. Frankie Pitcher says:

    Bless you and all your loved ones. May GOD lift up your peoples hearts and their strength. May you and your loved ones know peace in their hearts, mind, and soul through your leadership. May the LORD increase your Wisdom. Knowledge, and Understanding for their guidance. Blessed be the name of the LORD.

Leave a Reply

