Leaving Belize

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In 2004 we moved to Belize without ever having visited. After over 8 years of blood, sweat, tears, joy and heartache, all to the extreme, we have decided to move back to the United States. The primary reason for our decision is to be near our families, especially our parents. We want to make sure our children have a chance to know their Grandparents and other family as they grow up.

All of us are incredibly sad to leave this place and as I sit here on my deck, looking out over Barton Creek and into the jungle, I am convinced that I will never live anywhere as beautiful as this. I have tried to be candid about Belize and our experiences here but I doubt I have adequately expressed the extent of my love for our slice of paradise, nor the extent of the personal challenges I have faced while here.  From the pure, inner joy of days with my children on our jungle beach to standing on the side of a busy road on Christmas Eve, fighting tears, because I did not have the money to do a few simple things for my family on Christmas. This has been a life of extremes.

It has been less than a week since we have come to this decision and our future is somewhat uncertain. What will become of Barton Creek Outpost was a major question. In the last couple of days our partner has commissioned me to sell the Outpost. I look forward to finding just the right person to turn this place over to. There is nowhere in Belize I would rather live (well, maybe Caye Chapel, the island golf course).  I have this 165 acre piece of heaven listed on a couple of our websites but the Barton Creek Outpost website has the best selection of pictures and the most information. You looking for a slice of paradise? Let me know.

As for us personally, I have an opportunity to work with my brother and help grow a business that is the product of something he and I started about 15 years ago. The money would be good and the work would allow me the flexibility to split time, to some degree, between Florida and Tennessee, the respective homes of our parents. I have not closed the door on other opportunities (even a traditional j.o.b.) and am communicating with a couple of friends from my military days about other options.  As a matter of fact I am open to other opportunities out there and, although this is obviously unusual, I wanted to use this forum to share my resume and see if anything interesting comes of it.  For better or worse, my writing here offers an insight into who I am and if you think I might be an asset to your team or you know someone who might benefit from my unique skill set and experiences please let me know.

As the days go by I will update this blog more frequently than I have previously and keep those who are interested apprised of our progress. When we do leave here I will continue to write about Belize and our experiences and may very well turn it into a book.  I look forward to see what adventure lies ahead!

About BelizeBritts

Jim and Jacquelyn moved to Belize in 2004 after spending much of their adult lives as US Navy Deep Sea Divers. Jacquelyn specialized in the Navy's Marine Mammal Program handling sea lions and dolphins with the US Navy's Explosive Ordinance Disposal (EOD) as well as conducting underwater repairs on navy ships. Jim was a Navy Chief specializing in underwater repairs to ships and submarines as well as operating a recompression chamber for the treatment of injured divers. They moved to Belize in 2004 from Pine Island, Florida where Jacquelyn is a 4th generation native. Jim is from all over but calls Nashville, Tennessee home. In March 2013 they moved back to Pine Island, FL to spend more time with their family.
This entry was posted in Belize, Belize Adventure, Ex Military in Belize, Ex Pats in Belize, Land in Belize, Living in Belize, Property in Belize, real estate in belize, San Ignacio, Belize, Travel Belize, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Leaving Belize

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hi Jim, I was reading your blog and am sorry to hear you are leaving the Outpost, I took a look at your Resume (because I know a lot of people that might be able to assist you) and noticed a picture opened up under it (like a sheet of paper) that made seeing your resume completely impossible, I would consider lightening up the picture if you want to keep it, or removing it altogether so you can stick with the business end of what a resume is.

    Hope you don’t mind a little Ad Min, help, but this is what I do.

    Good luck in you endeavors,

    Stephanie

  2. Kimberly says:

    You’re not coming home to the same place. I’d encourage you to reconsider! We are currently looking at leaving the USA and moving to belize. I have really enjoyed the honesty of your posts!

    • BelizeBritts says:

      Thank you for your comment but we are not going back for the place but the people.

    • BelizeBritts says:

      If you are looking to leave the US for a better political situation then Belize is not the answer. There are good reasons to move to Belize but to be ruled by a more fair and efficient government is not one fo them! You are in for a very rude shock in Belize if that is the case.

      • Kimberly says:

        Not at all. We’ve done lots of research and realize there are lots of reasons not to move to Belize. We don’t believe we’ve arrived at our decision lightly. But we really believe it’s where God is asking us to move to. We want to do mission work and live a self sufficient lifestyle on a small farm. It’s getting close to rediculous here to do anything that allows you not to depend on the govt. So in that aspect Belize sounds perfect to us, we don’t need a pefectly functioning govt.
        I wish you guys all the best and pray for your safe return to home!

      • life says:

        Hi Belize Britts,

        I am starting to read your blog because we are planning to move to Belize, full time.. We did a lot and a lot of research went to Belize.

        But I was wondering if you could explain more what you mean concerning your comment above please. I know they might be corruption in the government as they are in all government but would appreciate a bit more insight please.

        thank you,

        And good luck in your plan.

      • BelizeBritts says:

        Government officials are rampantly, and often overtly, corrupt, period. There may be exceptions but they are exceptions. Every single person who has lived in Belize longer than a year knows it.

  3. So, So sad to see you all leave … a lot of people will miss you all and who will teach my grandsons to jump off boulders into the creek and Little Jack wont meet up with little Collin …. totally understand the pull though to be with family, Graham and I wish you all Happiness and a Safe journey hoping to see you before you leave, also know there are many people who would give you a roof over your head’s for Vacation time 🙂

  4. WiSh so much you all weren’t leaving, but having lived back & forth between my home in Bz of 12 yrs & my ranch in Tx of 32 yrs, I totally understand. I truly beliZe it takes living in beliZe to grasp how wonderful & yet how difficult it can be & is. As you put it so well …it is a life of extremes…
    Carry it all with you as your life has been enriched by it, challenges & all . PleaSe do write the book you carry in your heart ! God Bless your family’s continuing journey !!!

  5. Hey Jim, I know how much you love the outpost and how sad it must be to leave. But of course being with your parents is a good reason to move. I wish you the best and say hi to everyone for me.

    Lorenzo

  6. John says:

    I am going to Belize next year and was looking forward to going to the outpost. I am bummed you have sold abut I wish you all the best…….. Do you know if the new owners have a website?

Leave a Reply

